Welcome to the Region XI EMS Website

Your resource for regional EMS information

Learn More

New Policies & Procedures

New Region XI EMS Multiple Patient Incident Policy Effective April 1, 2019

Learn More

NEW Region XI Online Continuing Education Site

Complete your online education modules here!

Learn More

Region XI EMS Systems of Care

The Region XI EMS System recognizes Level 1 Trauma Centers, Level 1 Pediatric Trauma Centers, Primary Stroke Centers, STEMI Receiving Centers, and a Perinatal network of hospitals.

Learn More

Region XI EMS Monthly Pearls

Monthly updates and important information

Learn More

Research News

Recent Region XI Research Publications

Learn More
Previous Next

About Us

The State of Illinois has eleven designated EMS Regions in which emergency medical services are coordinated; the City of Chicago is designated as Region XI. Within EMS Region XI, there are four separate EMS Systems under the medical control of four hospitals: Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Northwestern Memorial Hospital, The University of Chicago Medical Center, and John H. Stroger Jr. Hospital of Cook County. The Illinois EMS Act provides authority to these four Resource Hospitals, giving them legal control over their respective Emergency Medical Services (EMS) systems.

The EMS Medical Directors from each of these four Resource Hospitals, along with their respective EMS System Coordinators, comprise the Region XI EMS Medical Directors Consortium (MDC), which was formed in 1984 to ensure the continuity of emergency medical services within the city. The Consortium allows the four separate EMS systems in the City of Chicago to function as “one EMS system,” having the same polices, standing medical orders and equipment across systems, making patient care and education of system providers consistent.  Click here to learn more about the organizational structure of the Region XI EMS MDC.

Chicago EMS

Recent News

  • FDNY Loses 200th Member to 9/11-Related Illness
    NEW YORK - The FDNY reaches a somber milestone with the passing of the 200th member to have died of a 9/11-related illness, according to the New York Daily News. Retired Firefighter Richard Driscoll died on Wednesday after having been exposed to toxins while working in the rescue and recovery… Read more »
  • Injured D.C. Fire and EMS K9 Flown to Hospital
    WASHINGTON (ABC7) — Traffic stopped briefly on the George Washington Parkway on Tuesday afternoon as emergency responders rushed in with a helicopter to save a special K9. Her name is Kylie. “Kylie, in moving about, impaled on a section of hidden fence. It was a potentially fatal injury,” D.C. Fire… Read more »
  • Boston EMS Discuss Job Dangers
    BOSTON (WCVB) - The head of Boston EMS said an increase of calls for drugs and mental health issues is making their job more dangerous. Last week, a patient with a history of mental health problems stabbed a paramedic multiple times inside an ambulance.   Read more »
View More News

Our Partners

Logo IHA